Vampire Weekend – Contra

So Seth told me today that he’s taking a break from the blog, which is all good i guess.  But I’m going to try to stick with it as long as I can (mostly because I don’t really have anything better to do, haha)

So here is today’s album!

Vampire Weekend’s follow-up to 2008’s s/t début, Contra, drops next week, and I’ll be one of the first to snag up this infectious gem of an album.  Sure Mansard Roof and A-Punk were wayyy over played, but hey, you’ve had some time to grow this year, and hopefully you’re ready for a new one, because it’s here whether you want it or not.  Hopefully you do, because this album is continuing everything awesome from the first.

So have the Vamp’s added anything new to the album?  Well, yes and no.   The same sound and feel are all over this record, but something is definitely different.  Now, it’s not different in a OH MY GOD WTF happened kinda way, but things are in the mixture that were not around before.  Maybe they’ve matured as songwriters, maybe they’ve added a new instrument, well, at least the latter is true.  This album is definitely drenched in drum machines and synths (which is not to say the first didn’t have keyboards or synths, but there are some songs on this album that are heavily laden in them, see : White Sky and Taxi Cab for an example).  So how does that pan out?  IT’S AWESOME.  To me at least, I love love love synths.  California English starts off with the guys singing in autotune (which, they do for the rest of the song i think) and at first listen, I thought they were singing backwards.  I was extremely confused, and actually the song still makes me brain scramble.  The strangest departure on the album is I Think Yur A Contra, which is a slow jam and really reminds me of some of the Beatles psychotropic songs.  I mean, Vampire Weekend’s sound is still all over this song, but it’s SLOOOW, and that just is the opposite of everything I’ve heard so far.

I got this album about 3 days ago, and I’ve probably listened to it 5 or 6 times through so far, which, for me, is a lot.  I think it could very well be one of my top 20 of 2010, provided I don’t overplay it (or get sick of it like I did the first)

(When the album drops next week, I’ll do a follow-up to this, because there are some songs on the iTunes release that aren’t on this one.)

Alright, I’m out, see you guys tomorrow!

Dan

also, you should check out their cover of Exit Music (for a film) by Radiohead.  Holy Amazing.

http://www.last.fm/music/Vampire+Weekend

What do you think of this album?

