Chris Staples – Badlands

I know it’s been a while, blah blah blah, but I havn’t had much time lately, so I apologize sincerely! I DO!  But now I’m back, with a great album!

Chris Staples will always have a special place in my heart.  Chris was the vocalist and guitarist for  Twothirtyeight, one (and still is) of my favorite bands of the  early 00’s.  I have seriously listened to Regulate the Chemicals and You Should be Living more than a bajillion times, and they’re still amazing.  After 238 Chris released some solo eps and went on to start discover america.  But I’m not here to talk about that, I’m here to talk about Badlands, Chris Staples newest solo album.

Badlands showcases Chris’ amazing songwriting in ways 238 (and even Discover America) never could.  The sound on this album is extremely stripped down and it literally sounds like Staples is just sitting there alone with his guitar, playing just for you.  The stripped down sound allows you to get swept up in his words like you can’t believe.  Most of the songs on this album are just Chris alone with his guitar, but the few exceptions (Bell into my Ear being one of them) are just as incredible.  Bell has a beautiful piano riff throughout of it, and really is one of Staples more gorgeous songs.

My favorite song on the album by far is Thrift Store Jesus Painting .  Something about this song just pulls at my heart so hard.  The first time I listened to it I immediately connected to it.  Maybe it’s the wistfulness of the sound, or maybe it’s the little synth part in it, who knows, but I absolfreakinglutely love this song.

What do you think of this album?

