Top 10 Christmas songs.

Hey all, it’s been a while, a long long while,  and I’m not sure that this will really even become a thing, but right now, I need to get this out in the world.

I unabashedly love Christmas(holiday) music, from the most religious, to the most raunchy, I love it all.  So, I’ve decided to make a list of my TOP 10 Christmas songs.  These are in no particular order..I think, but just songs that range from timeless, to brand new, the top 10 in my opinion. Without further ado…

10.kanye_west_christmas_in_harlem   Christmas in Harlem – Kanye West, Cyhi Da Prince, Teyana Taylor

Kanye is having a rough year (mostly due to his mouth, and the shit that comes out of it), but let’s not forget that he had one of the best records of the year,  and is still a musical genius.  This song is one of my contemporary favorites, and while it’s not a song I’d play for my parents, it’s a song that deserves to be on every Christmas party list.

9.  62331wct Wonderful Christmastime – Paul McCartney –

Everyone hates this song.  I don’t.  Fight me.

8. david-bazan-dark-sacred-night-1474896350-640x640 I heard the Bells on Christmas Day – David Bazan

Some great version of this song throughout the years (the Harry Belefonte version of this is just as haunting), but this one is fresh, and amazing.  Honestly this whole album is a treat, and it was hard to pick just one song, but I think IHTBOCD perfectly encapsulates this album.  It’s heartbreaking, but with a tinge of hope, and that’s the sad state (of America) right now.  Heartbroken, but not beaten.

7. 51ksymwswpl-_sy355_ I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm – Dean Martin

True fact, I fucking love Dean Martin.  His voice is the perfect mixture of 4 glasses of wine and swagger.  Don’t get me wrong Frank is the man, and he’ll be on the list, but I’m probably more apt to go for a Dean song any day of the week than Frank Sinatra.  I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm sounds like the song he would write after years of being with the girl he tricked in Baby, It’s Cold Outside, and I am totally ok with that.

6. muppets_christmas_carol_soundtrack Bless Us All – A Muppet’s Christmas Carol Soundtrack

I can’t make it through this song without tearing up.  Shut up, you soulless bastard.

5. 51yqygft9zl I Celebrate the Day – Relient K

While I’m not 100% sure what I believe anymore, I know I can’t deny one thing…

This song is incredible.

4. 220px-silver_and_gold Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – Sufjan Stevens

The best version of this song, hands down.  With electronics beeping and booping, and swooping horns and strings, you’ve never heard this song quite like this.  If you’ve never listened to any of Sufjan’s Christmas albums, we’re probably not really friends, are we?

3. 00602537976430-cover-zoom It Came Upon a Midnight Clear –

Nothing says Christmas to me more than Frank Sinatra singing the golden standards, and nothing is more calming and beautiful than him singing It Came Upon a Midnight Clear.

2. 51zyj5hs4fl Holiday Road – Matt Pond PA –

Taking a song written for National Lampoon’s Vacation and making it into a holiday song is FUCKING genius.  It sounds like it was born for this season, mad props, and one of my all time favorites for this time of the year.

1. 220px-fairytaleofnewyork Fairytale of New York – The Pogues

I mean, what other Christmas song says “You’re an old slut on junk”?  No other ones?  Ok then.  My wife hates this song because of its crassness, but behind all of this, is a really “beautiful” love song that deserves your attention every year.

 

 

Bless us all this holiday season, and may 2017 be a hell of a lot kinder than this year was.

Cheers! – Dan.

 

